This award was established in 2007 by Candela Corporation, Cynosure, and DEKA to recognize an individual who has played a significant role in industry with multiple accomplishments. It is given in memory of the genius, leadership, and commitment of Dr. Horace Furumoto.

This award may be given to either ASLMS members or non-members, but It is a requirement that nominations be made by ASLMS members only. The award recipient will receive a plaque and $1,000 at the Annual Conference and will be required to present a brief lecture during the Plenary Session at the conference highlighting their accomplishments.
Degree of recognitionInternational
Granting Organizationsthe ASLMS (American Society for Laser Medicine and Surgery)